PIA Run: How I got into running

2010. I was off to work one afternoon when I came across a pink poster in a bulletin board at the office. I just couldn’t resist pink so I stopped and took a good look. It read ‘Pinay in Action 2010‘ with Senator Pia Cayetano. A photo of the pink-clad lawmaker was also on the poster, forming the word PIA. I knew it was a campaign of the lady lawmaker but I had no idea at first that it was a fun run.

What’s a fun run anyway? I didn’t know until after I joined my first. How far is 3km, 5km, and 10km? I had no idea, but I found myself signing up for my first longest 3-kilometer run-walk-walk-walk-run ever.

On April 11, 2010, hundreds of women runners clad in pink crowded IT Park in Lahug. It was cool to see many people wearing the same running shirt I too was wearing. And except for the color, which happened to be a favorite, everything around me on that day was new, unfamiliar and wonderful. I didn’t know what the numbers on the bibs pinned on our shirt stand for. I didn’t know about the route map. I didn’t know a lot about running.

I only knew three things then: 1) that I didn’t know if I can finish the run, 2) that I’m running for a greater cause, and 3) that I wanted to meet and greet the lady senator. 🙂

The gun start was fired at around 6 a.m. for the 3K runners. The 10K and 5K runners were released ahead of us. While most of my officemates were running their nth 5K and 10K races, I was struggling on my first 3K. But candidly, I was happy running the first few meters. I mean jogging the first few meters because I got to talk to some women who were also doing their first 3K just like me. I ran-walked from IT Park until JY Square, where one of the water stations was. I asked for water in a gasping manner, and for the first time in my entire life, I realized what water tastes like. (From then on, it was easier for me to distinguish a mineral water from the rest…)

I just walked until the 3K turning point and ran from there going back to JY Square — puffing — and it felt like forever. I was tired by the time I reached Metro Sports and momentarily forgot the reasons why I ran in the first place. I kept walking until I saw the FINISH line from afar. I ran towards it and made my first “crossing-the-finish-line-moment”.

Finishing my first fun run in 30 minutes was tiring but awesome, and right there and then I made a pact to run more fun runs and to always do it for a cause. And I also promised to keep on running.

I was happier when I received my first goodie bag and while waiting for my officemates, I checked on the different information and product booths, some were even offering free check ups for women.

But the best thing that happened really was when I met, greeted and had a photo op with Senator Pia. I was the happiest 3K runner and my 30-minute struggle paid off.

CEBU. June, Me right beside Senator Pia, Jean and Kent.

Little did I know that a year after, I will meet the lady lawmaker again and that I’m gonna be somebody I never imagined I would be.



This is it. My life as a runner started here.

Cheers and love,
Warat Runner

Published by armiegarde

journalist, ultramarathon runner, traveler a girl who lives curious

7 thoughts on “PIA Run: How I got into running

Leave a comment